SALT Report 1526 – The Oklahoma State Legislature has passed a bill that modifies current legislation regarding direct pay permits. The bill, SB 1465, now states that, “no sales or use tax is due from a direct pay permit holder on tangible personal property intended solely for use in states other than Oklahoma but that is stored in Oklahoma pending shipment to another state, or on property that is temporarily retained in Oklahoma for purposes of fabrication, repair, testing, alteration, maintenance, and other services.”
Currently, every person who makes taxable purchases of $800,000.00 or more annually and would like to remit the taxes due directly to the Oklahoma Tax Commission rather than remit tax to a vendor may apply for a direct payment permit. The permit is valid for 3 years and the fee for the permit is $20.00.
For Further Information: