Multi-State – 10 more states will now collect sales taxes from Amazon shoppers

Darla Mercado | @darla_mercado
February 1st 2017 – 4 Hours Ago –

“More Amazon shoppers can expect to pay sales taxes when they buy online this year.

The massive internet merchant is adding 10 more states to the list of jurisdictions from which it collects sales tax, making the current total 39. View the affected states here.

The states in which shoppers are now subject to sales taxes on Amazon purchases are Iowa, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont and Wyoming. The latter will not begin collecting taxes on Amazon purchases until March 1, while the levies are now in effect in the other states.

“Wyoming businesses are at a disadvantage when internet businesses fail to collect tax,” Gov. Matt Mead said in a statement. “This is an important step in the right direction.”

States’ coffers go wanting due to failures to collect levies from online purchases. The National Conference of State Legislatures estimated that states missed out on $23.3 billion in tax revenue in 2012″…

For further information: