Multistate – Why Trump’s online store collects sales tax in three states — while Amazon does for 45 states

 April 9

President Trump has repeatedly taken to Twitter to attack online retailer for paying “little or no taxes” to state and local governments and has called for changes in current laws to require retailers to collect sales tax in every state.

But the Trump Organization’s online store,, collects sales tax only on orders shipped to three states: Florida, Louisiana and Virginia, according to its website. Under current federal rules, online retailers must collect sales tax in each state where they have a physical presence — a store, warehouse or factory, for example. A total of 45 states, as well as the District, require sales tax.

For further information