Multi-State – Etsy Adds To List Of States For Which It Collects Sales Tax

Etsy has added to the list of states for which it collects sales tax under Marketplace Facilitator laws. For Etsy-only sellers, such laws can simplify compliance issues, but for multi-channel sellers, such laws add yet another wrinkle to the herculean task of calculating, collecting, reporting, and remitting sales tax for each and every state that imposes a sales and use tax.

Etsy said in response to new laws, it started or will start collecting and remitting state sales tax on orders shipped to the following states:

Washington (January 1, 2018)
Pennsylvania (April 1, 2018)
Oklahoma (August 1, 2018)
Minnesota (October 1, 2018)
Iowa (February 1, 2019)
Connecticut (February 1, 2019)
South Carolina (February 1, 2019)
South Dakota (March 1, 2019)
New Jersey (April 1, 2019)
District of Columbia (April 1, 2019)
Alabama (July 1, 2019)

For The Full Story: