Multi State – Five States Without Sales Tax

While almost every state in the U.S has a sales tax, five lucky states – Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire and Oregon – don’t. But, why?

When you’re at the supermarket or the mall and you go to check out, there’s usually an additional price added on – the sales tax

And while the sales tax comes in a variety of forms – from excise tax to value-added tax – most states in the U.S. add it to the base price of the goods. But, in five lucky states, residents are exempt from sales tax (for the most part). But, what does it mean to be exempt from sales tax, and which states are sales-tax-free? 

For the Full Story: The Street

The street
by anne sraders
February 5, 2020